Skip to content
April 11, 2014 / thevazfamily

Easter Gluten Free Cup Cakes

Hello

I made these the other day when my friend Carla came over – she was the first friend I made in Zurich – I introduced myself by asking if she wanted rubbish bags – the things you do in a foreign country when you don’t know anyone and NEED to talk to an adult – now we just talk rubbish :-).    Anyway,  I had bought the little silicone flower pots from Lakeland Ltd (LOVE this shop!  Always buy so much I never knew I needed – these plant pots being just one example!!)

IMG_5745

 

They are so cute – I served them in a little wooden crate and if it hadn’t been so early in the morning I would have had a glass of something to celebrate 🙂

IMG_5739

 

To make them you can use any chocolate cupcake mix you like – or vanilla and then grate chocolate over the buttercream to make the “dirt”

The recipe I used is :

150g butter

150g sugar

2 eggs (beaten)

a few drops of vanilla essence

210g gluten free flour

10g gluten free baking powder

60g unsweetened cocoa powder

200ml milk

 

Mix together the butter & sugar until soft and fluffy – then add the eggs beating throughly.  Add the vanilla.  Then spoon in the flour / baking powder / cocoa powder – with a spoon of milk each time you add some until its all combined.

Fill your flower pots (or cupcake cases) and bake for 15 – 20 minutes at 180c – until a knife comes out clean.

Take out of the oven and allow to cool

To decorate I used a chocolate buttercream (cocoa powder, butter and icing sugar combined) and then sprinkled some crumbs from a spare cake (the mixture made just over the 12 pots I had).   I used marzipan carrots – but you could use gummy worms, tissue paper flowers or real flowers (If using real flowers use a straw folded over at one end to seal – wrap it with tape – as you don’t want the stems to come in contact with the cake.

If that all seems like too  much work you can make chocolate rice crispy cakes – make an indent in the top and add some sweet eggs to make easter nests!

 

IMG_5753

 

Those rabbits were determined to get a cake!!

Sx

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Reanna / Apr 14 2014 12:45 pm

    Another amazing creation Sharon!!!

    • thevazfamily / Apr 14 2014 12:46 pm

      Thank you Reanna!! I will make you some – have a fantastic easter! x

Leave a Reply

